Bob Boast's Bruderlin & Thomas Bodied MG TC Special
Current owner - Bob Boast
The car has a Cams log book & C/Description for Lb racing
It has a one piece fibre glass body.
TC chassis & gearbox & diff
TC hubs & axles
Datsun steering box conversion
Twin brake master cylinders
Runs Hoosier 5.000 x 15” tyres & rims
J75 Supercharged motor, 1-3/4” twin bowl SU carburetor
Runs on Methanol
History provided by Gary Malyon, who owned the car from 1979 to 1986
Constructed in 1958 by John Bruderlin and Leon Thomas (Lynx) using a highly modified MG TC chassis, suspension and gearbox and a TF 1500 cc supercharged motor. The chassis then fitted with fibreglass open wheel body using the mould from the late Jimmy Johnson's TC Special. This mould being a shortened and widened version of the RMV Riley body of 1951. Four bodies were constructed. These were subsequently used on Bruderlin and Thomas TC specials -- originally built for hill climbs and sprints in which they were very successful. Two of the original cars were destroyed in late 1959. The third special competed as both a sports car (with aluminium cycle guards) and as a racing car. This Special passed into the hands of Bill Reynolds in 1960. It ran unsuccessfully in a number of road races in this period before being dismantled for a complete rebuild. It was sold in this state to Tim Shellshear in 1962 and, with the help of his brother, rebuilt and raced for the next three years, when it was sold again.
The Special was dismantled again to effect another rebuild. It was sold in this state to M. H. Kennedy in 1967/68. Then, still dismantled, sold again to P.N.Redhead In 1970. The Special was still in pieces when bought by the writer in late 1970. The rebuild commenced in 1975 and the Special had its first competitive run in over 15 years at the 1975 all historic Oran Park races.
MG Car Club Magazine - Opposite Lock - August 2009
Above: Tim Shellshear - 1978
Above: Oran Park 1978
By Brian Woolmer
||From the MG Car Club Magazine - "Opposite Lock" - Oran Park - 1978 - The B&T MG Special at left
"The chassis was fitted with a fibreglass open wheeler body using the mould from the late Jimmy Johnson's TC Special.
This mould was a shortened and widened the version of the RMV Riley body of 1951.
Four bodies were constructed. These were subsequently used on Bruderlin and Thomas TC Specials, which were originally built for hill climbs and sprints where they were very successful."
This car competed as both a race car and sports special (with aluminium cycle guards fitted).
Two of the original cars were destroyed in late 1959 and two unknown to survive to this day.
This car had its first outing in September 1958 and was eventually sold to Bill Reynolds in 1960 and competed in road races. It was sold to Tim Shellshbac (? Shellsear) in 1962 and was raced by him until 1965.
The car passed through several hands until it was bought by Gary Malyon in 1970 and the restored vehicle returned to the track in 1978 and was raced by him until it was sold to Ray Robinson in 1986. Ray sold the car to Dick Willis in 1988 and Dick subsequently sold the car to the late Peter Candy in 1990.
Bob bought the car from Peter's widow in 2007 and since then has restored the vehicle to its original glory.
1958 -- 60 Bruderlin and Thomas
1960 -- 62 Bill Reynolds
1962 -- 65 Jim Shelshbar (? Tim Shellshear)
1965 -- 68 David Gazard
1968 -- 70 M. H Kennedy
1979 -- 86 Gary Malyon
1986 -- 88 Ray Robinson
1988 -- 90 Dick Willis
1990 -- 2007 Peter Candy
2007 -- Bob Boast
The above photos were from the MG Car Club magazine Opposite Lock August 2009